Healthcare categories

Australian and New Zealand Standard Classification of Occupations (ANZSCO). The following occupations relate specifically to Nursing Managers and Registered Nurses. All listed occupations on this page are classified as Skill Level 1.

Occupations at Skill Level 1 have a level of skill commensurate with a bachelor degree or higher qualification. At least five years of relevant experience may substitute for the formal qualification. In some instances relevant experience and/or on-the-job-training may be required in addition to the formal qualification.

ANZSCO categories for Healthcare Skilled Working Visa's in Australia

ANZSCO categories for Healthcare Skilled Working Visa’s in Australia

Nursing manager:

Child Care Centre Manager – ANZSCO 134111
Medical Administrator (Aus) / Medical Superintendent (NZ) – ANZSCO 134211
Nursing Clinical Director – ANZSCO 134212
Primary Health Organisation Manager – ANZSCO 134213
Welfare Centre Manager – ANZSCO 134214
Health and Welfare Services Managers nec – ANZSCO 134299

Registered Nurse:

Registered Nurse (Child and Family Health) – ANZSCO 254413
Registered Nurse (Community Health) – ANZSCO 254414
Registered Nurse (Critical Care and Emergency) – ANZSCO 254415
Registered Nurse (Developmental Disability) – ANZSCO 254416
Registered Nurse (Disability and Rehabilitation) – ANZSCO 254417
Registered Nurse (Medical) – ANZSCO 254418
Registered Nurse (Medical Practice) – ANZSCO 254421
Registered Nurse (Mental Health) – ANZSCO 254422
Registered Nurse (Perioperative) – ANZSCO 254423
Registered Nurse (Surgical) – ANZSCO 254424
Registered Nurse (Paediatrics) – ANZSCO 254425
Registered Nurses nec – ANZSCO 254499

Note: Changes to skills assessing authorities have been specified for the following occupations after 1 July 2104:
Nurse Manager (ANZSCO 254311): ANMAC
Nurse Educator (ANZSCO 254211): ANMAC
Nurse Researcher (ANZSCO 254212): ANMAC

Information on the relevant Skills Assessment Body and Authority