Skilled Migration

Australian Skilled Migration

Australian Skilled Migration encompasses the following visa subclasses:

  • Skilled Independent visa (subclass 189)
  • Skilled Nominated visa (subclass 190)
  • Skilled Regional (Provisional) visa (subclass 489)*
  • Temporary Graduate visa (subclass 485)
  • Skilled – Recognised Graduate visa (subclass 476)
  • Skilled Regional visa (subclass 887)

*Note certain holders of subclasses 495, 496, 475 or 487 visas may be eligible to apply for a 489 visa with a shorter duration, without the need to be invited.


  • obtain a positive skills assessment in a nominated occupation on the appropriate Skilled Occupations List;
  • age: in general, the main applicants must be aged between 18 or over and less than 50;
  • English language ability;
  • in certain cases completion of one or more suitable qualifications after at least two years of study in Australia;
  • in certain cases, applicants need to lodge an Expression of Interest (EOI) using SkillSelect and be invited to apply for a visa, before they can lodge their GSM application.

Skilled Occupations List (SOL)

The Skilled Occupations List applies to the following types of General Skilled Migration (GSM) Visa types:

Note: The professions of bricklayer, tiler and chef have been added to the Skilled Occupation List from July 2014, allowing foreign workers in these occupations to apply for a permanent visa without a sponsor.

Department processing times

For information relating to the Department of Immigration and Border Protection (DIBP) Skilled Visa processing times can be found here.