Australia’s First Bank

On this day 15 Jul 1817 Australia’s first Bank was established.

Known as the “The Bank of New South Wales” it is known today as Westpac. It is referred to at one of the ‘big four banks’ along with the National Australia Bank (NAB), Commonwealth Bank and the Australia and New Zealand Banking Group (ANZ).